Monday, January 25, 2016

New Things

Trying to think of what to write is often difficult. Writing something new can be even more so. But try writing when you've got a cat crawling on your lap begging, "Save me from the child!" while your three-year-old is relentless in her desire to play peek-a-boo with said cat. Add a 3 month old who wants to be entertained into the mix and well ...

Let's just say I'm not going to be able to think of the perfect "Welcome to my blog!" post. And that's okay, because my life is always a bit crazy and hectic. Which means most of my posts will be as well. Therefore starting off this way is a good thing!

So let's get to the about me stuff. I'm happily married to my high school sweetheart and we have three crazy, curly-haired kids. Okay, so the three month old doesn't have enough hair for curls, but I'm betting she'll get them. We have 2 cats and 2 kittens. Tali, Kota, Merlin, and Smokey. 

Trying to wrangle both kids and cats can be interesting. Luckily they get along. Kota doesn't like the kids, but she takes pains to avoid them. Merlin is a bit whiny about them touching him, but he deals with it. Tali and Smokey love attention in all forms. As much as Tali loves the family, she can't stand the other cats. She sends them warnings when they get to close, and they respect her place as "grumpy old lady".

My husband is an IT admin and works the 9-5 shift. I miss him when he's working, but I love that I can stay home with the kids. We met when we were 16 and became close friends. A week before my 17th birthday we started dating. (Okay, Merlin you have to move!) We were married almost 2 years later and have been married for 6 years this past December. (No, Cheyenne. Mommy's got it.)

Our three kids are Cheyenne(3 1/2), Luke(almost 2), and Elaina(3 months). I get a lot of remarks from strangers when we go out, but I love my kids and I wanted them. All three of them, and I like the age range. I never quite believed(or rather never understood the extent) my mother or my mother-in-law when they told me how rude complete strangers are about how many kids a person has and so on. 

(Yes, Cheyenne, you can sit in the chair.)

So when I'm not doing housework and taking care of the kids, what do I do? Well, it depends on the time of year! In the summer I garden and enjoy the warm weather. I love swimming any time of the year, but in the summer we don't have to pay for it! I live in Michigan, so we've got plenty of lakes, not to mention Lake Michigan.

(Stop unraveling the thread!)

I love to read, but most of that happens in the summer/fall as life tends to be less busy then. I love sewing, that I'll do any time of the year. I'm a beginner so I'm not making anything too spectacular.

(Yes, sister is yucky. Thank you for the diaper.)

When I get the chance, I love playing Halo with Phil and my siblings. We're terrible at it, but we have a lot of fun.

(Merlin, unless you plan on changing this diaper, get down! Elaina, that's mommy's hair.)

But one of the things I really love doing is writing. Hence the blog as my myriad of fans will surely want to follow me! (Okay, so maybe I have to tell myself someone will read this so I feel like I'm not wasting my time.)

(Cheyenne! Don't throw things on my keyboard.)

So yes, I'm a writer. I'll be publishing my first novel this spring. I'm doing all the lovely little last minute things while the editor is checking over my manuscript. I'll try and do a post soon to go more in detail on that.

(Yes, you can put the dime in your bank.)